Quincy's Hancock Cemetery dates from the earliest years of European settlement (1630's) and was the community' main burial ground until 1854. Early Puritans took a pragmatic attitude towards death and burial: grave markers were often impermanent or non-existent and the cattle roamed freely here. Consequently, many more people are buried here than there are existing markers. Only in 1809 did a group of citizens, including John Adams, purchase the lot and officially donate it to the town. The handsome iron fencing is from 1844. Find grave descriptions in the link below or explore by clicking on numbers on the built in map.
View Historic Hancock Cemetery; Quincy, MA in a larger map